App Guides
Ad-Free Reading Apps for Kids
What comes with free videos and reading games, what paying removes, and where to find reading practice without ads.
Khan Academy Kids, Duolingo ABC, and Starfall Learn to Read are free reading apps with no ads, and Wonster Words offers ad-free practice with no prompts to buy after sign-up. That combination is rarer than it sounds. When University of Michigan researchers studied 135 popular apps for children aged 5 and under, 95% carried some form of advertising, including 88% of the paid ones.
YouTube Kids shows a few ads, PBS KIDS shows short sponsor credits instead of commercials, and six of the seven free game sites we checked show ads. Before paying to remove ads from a service your child already uses, check what the subscription covers. YouTube Premium removes paid ads, for example, but leaves products featured inside videos. How a service is funded helps explain what your child sees, whether that is an ad, a sponsor credit, or reading practice with nothing for sale.
Does YouTube Kids have ads?
Yes, YouTube Kids has ads. Your child may see a short ad, marked “Ad” or “Sponsored”, before the video they picked. YouTube’s help center says the service “does have limited advertising” to keep it free. Its advertiser policy sets stricter rules than regular YouTube’s: YouTube approves every ad before it runs, and ads are not targeted at your child. Your child cannot click an ad to visit a website or buy something. Whole categories are banned, including food and drink, “regardless of nutrition content.”
A toy or snack featured inside a YouTube Kids video can appear without an ad label. YouTube treats creators’ videos separately from its paid advertising: they “are not Paid Ads and therefore they are not marked as an Ad nor are they subject to our advertising policies.” In a 2025 study of what 101 children aged 3–8 watched on YouTube and YouTube Kids, Frances Fleming-Milici and colleagues found that 61% of the children’s exposures to food and drink brands came from inside the videos, compared with 17% from ads. None of those videos disclosed that a food company had sponsored them.
Regular YouTube has looser advertising rules. YouTube’s terms say you must be at least 13, unless a parent enables it for a younger child. On videos made for children, YouTube shows no personalized ads, but its ad rules say “Contextual ads can be served”, chosen by what is on screen. Those rules followed a 2019 settlement in which Google and YouTube paid a record $170 million to the Federal Trade Commission and the New York Attorney General over children’s data. When Common Sense Media and the University of Michigan studied 1,639 YouTube videos watched by children up to age 8 in 2020, ads appeared in 85% of them, 1 in 5 carried ads that were not age appropriate, and 45% featured or promoted products for children to buy.
YouTube Premium removes paid ads; products featured inside creators’ videos remain. The US plan costs $15.99 a month. YouTube’s Premium help page says “you and your child can watch videos on YouTube Kids without paid ads.”
YouTube Premium Lite costs $8.99 a month and makes most YouTube Kids videos ad-free. Its help page says ads “may still appear on music content, Shorts, and when you search or browse.” YouTube counts children’s songs as music content, so that exception matters if your child watches phonics songs.
Autoplay is not an ad, but it decides what your child watches next. When a video ends, autoplay starts another one your child did not choose. YouTube’s parental controls page says “You can turn off Autoplay for your child by selecting Disable autoplay,” and “Your child can’t turn on Autoplay when this setting is on.” To set it, sign in to the YouTube app with the parent account linked to your child’s, then go to You, Settings, and Family Center, choose your child’s profile, and switch Disable autoplay on.
A good phonics song or read-aloud on YouTube can be a useful addition to reading together, and it costs nothing. Our guide to free phonics resources explains how to judge a phonics video before your child watches it.
Does PBS KIDS have ads?
PBS KIDS does not show commercials, but it does show short sponsor credits. PBS’s Funding Standards and Practices say “PBS is committed to providing a safe haven for children, free from the influence of commercial messaging.” Those rules cover children’s content “on all platforms”, including television and apps. A sponsor may be credited at the start of a video; PBS’s producer’s handbook says “Only one pre-roll is delivered per video.” PBS also bans “host selling”: hosts selling a sponsor’s products in content for children 12 and under. A credit for a brand children want cannot show the product. A product can appear in a sponsor credit only “where the product or service is of no interest to children and the message is solely aimed at adults.”
Sponsors, donors, and public money pay for PBS KIDS. PBS’s help center says corporate sponsors “provide critical funding that helps PBS KIDS offer free programming, games and activities,” and that public media is supported by individuals, foundations, businesses, community organizations, and governments. The PBS KIDS privacy policy says it “will not use children’s personal information we collect, if any, for marketing or online advertising.” PBS KIDS is a useful choice if you want free children’s programming with rules that limit selling to children.
Do free kids’ learning game websites have ads?
Six of the seven free kids’ game websites we checked show ads. Advertising pays for free play on those sites. Each site describes its ads in its privacy policy or help pages, and ABCya and Turtle Diary let you pay to remove them.
| Site | What it says about ads | What removes them |
|---|---|---|
| ABCya | ”we have advertisements on the Platform, which are served by third-party companies” (privacy policy); contextual, not targeted at your child | An ad-free subscription, $9.99 a month or $79.99 a year |
| Turtle Diary | ”The advertisements on TurtleDiary.com keep the website FREE for everyone to use” (FAQ), through Google AdSense | Premium, $9.95 a month or $69.99 a year |
| Funbrain | ”This Website includes advertising by third parties” (privacy policy); no interest-based ads on its children’s pages | No ad-free option found |
| Education.com | ”Our advertisers and advertising vendors display targeted advertisements” (privacy policy) | Premium, $15.99 a month or $119.88 a year; Education.com describes only its Brainzy area as ad-free |
| RoomRecess | ”We use ads on our site” (privacy policy) | No ad-free option found |
| Coolmath4Kids | Ads “served by other companies”, contextual only (privacy policy) | No ad-free option found |
| Starfall | ”We do not display ads.” (privacy policy) | Nothing to remove; a $35-a-year membership opens the rest of the site |
Check the age limits on general game sites, too. Coolmath Games says it is “designed for users aged 13 and older” and that its advertisers “may serve interest-based advertising”; its ad-free Premium Access is $5.99 a month. Poki says “Ads are what allows Poki to offer a free gaming experience”, offers no ad-free version of Poki.com, and its terms for US visitors say the site is for visitors 16 and older. Poki points younger players to Poki Kids, which it calls its ad-free option.
For an occasional free game, these sites give families plenty of choice. ABCya and Turtle Diary also let you pay to remove the ads. ABCya, Funbrain, and Coolmath4Kids say their ads are chosen by the page your child is on rather than by tracking your child. For daily reading practice, especially when your child plays on their own, choose an option with no ads.
Which reading apps for kids have no ads at all?
All seven reading apps here are ad-free. They are also in Apple’s Kids Category, where purchases must stay behind a parental gate. You can spot that category on an App Store listing as a “Made for Ages” band under Age Rating. Apple’s App Store Review Guidelines say apps in that category “should not include third-party analytics or third-party advertising” and “must not include links out of the app, purchasing opportunities, or other distractions to kids unless reserved for a designated area behind a parental gate.”
We make Wonster Words. To compare the apps, we read their US App Store listings and published policies in October 2026, checking ads, purchases, privacy labels, and offline use. We use Wonster Words ourselves and have played Starfall’s main app; we have not tested the others for this page.
You can pay for a subscription or choose an app a nonprofit or company keeps free for families.
| App | Who pays | What your child can buy | App Store privacy label | Works offline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wonster Words | A parent, by subscription | Nothing after sign-up | Data Not Linked to You | Full features, once downloaded |
| ABCmouse | A parent, by subscription | Purchases behind a parental gate (Apple’s rule) | Data Not Linked to You | Offline Mode on Premium, a selection of activities |
| HOMER | A parent, by subscription | Purchases behind a parental gate (Apple’s rule) | Data Linked to You | Not stated |
| Reading.com | A parent, by subscription | Purchases behind a parental gate (Apple’s rule) | Data Linked to You | Not stated |
| Khan Academy Kids | Khan Academy, a nonprofit | Nothing | Data Not Linked to You | An offline section, Kodi’s Suitcase |
| Duolingo ABC | Duolingo, Inc. | Nothing | Data Linked to You | Yes, its listing says |
| Starfall Learn to Read | Starfall Education Foundation, a nonprofit | Nothing | Data Not Collected | Yes, its listing says |
The privacy labels are each company’s own declaration on its App Store listing, and “Works offline” is what each company says about its own app.
Wonster Words: Best for a phonics path your child can play anywhere
Wonster Words gives children ages 2–8 phonics practice they can play on their own, online or off. It is available on Apple, Google Play, and Amazon Kindle Fire tablets. Its phonics activities were developed with an educator using the Orton-Gillingham approach, with input from speech-language pathologists. Download lessons first to use the full features offline. Wonster Words has no ads. A parent subscribes at sign-up, behind a parent gate; after that, there are no purchases or links to the web.
- Where it fits best: daily practice and repetition for a child still learning early literacy skills, from the alphabet and the sounds in words to phonics, spelling, CVC words, and sight words.
- Best paired with: reading books together. Wonster Words emails you a daily and a weekly report on what your child played: how many words they practiced and how accurate they were.
- Price: $10.99 a month or $59.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial.
ABCmouse: Best for one subscription across many subjects
ABCmouse covers several subjects for ages 2–8, with reading as one part of the curriculum. Its App Store listing calls it “100% ad-free” and lists the kidSAFE+ COPPA Seal. Premium subscribers can use a selection of videos and games in Offline Mode. Skip it if you want focused reading practice; our guide to ABCmouse alternatives compares it with apps that teach reading alone. Price: $14.99 a month or $59.99 a year.
HOMER: Best for a staged early-learning path from age 2
HOMER takes children ages 2–8 through five stages, from Toddler to Growing Learner. Its listing describes the app as “Safe, Ad-Free,” and its App Store privacy label is “Data Linked to You.” Skip it if reading is the only thing you want the app to teach. Price: $12.99 a month or $79.99 a year, with a 30-day free trial.
Reading.com: Best for parents who want to teach the lessons themselves
Reading.com is for lessons you teach together. You sit with your child for each lesson; its parent-facing scope and sequence lists 120 numbered lessons, with the letters, sounds, and words each one introduces. Its listing says the app is ad-free, and one subscription covers up to 3 child profiles. Skip it if your child needs to practice on their own. Price: $6.99 a week, $12.49 a month, or $74.99 a year, with no free trial.
Khan Academy Kids: Best free pick
Khan Academy Kids gives children ages 2–8 a personalized path through early literacy, reading, writing, language, and math. Khan Academy, the nonprofit behind it, keeps the app free for families, with no ads or in-app purchases. Kodi’s Suitcase, a section of its library, works offline. Skip it if you want an app that teaches reading alone.
Duolingo ABC: Best free pick for bite-sized lessons
Duolingo ABC offers “over 700 hands-on lessons” for preschool to second grade, according to its App Store listing. Children practice the alphabet, phonics, sight words, and vocabulary in short lessons. Duolingo, Inc., the company behind the language app, makes it free, with no ads or in-app purchases. The listing says it works offline, too.
Starfall Learn to Read: Best free pick for early phonics that collects no data
Starfall Learn to Read gives children practice with CVC (consonant-vowel-consonant) words, sight words, and vowel teams. It is the second step in Starfall’s four-app Learn to Read series. Members of the Starfall nonprofit fund the free program, and Starfall says “We do not display ads.” The app’s App Store privacy label is “Data Not Collected,” and its listing says “No internet connection required.” Skip it if you want one app that covers every stage.
To choose by what your child is learning, try our comparison of phonics apps or our guide to reading apps by age.
What does “ad-free” really mean in a kids’ app?
An app can show advertising without a single banner ad. A character, an offer to unlock a level, or a video your child has to watch to keep playing can all carry advertising. When Marisa Meyer and colleagues at the University of Michigan studied 135 popular apps for children aged 5 and under, 129 of them (95%) carried at least one kind of advertising. The researchers counted:
- Teasers for the full app: 46%
- Commercial characters: 42%
- Pop-up videos that interrupt play: 35%
- Offers to buy something inside the app: 30%
- Prompts to rate the app: 28%
- Videos a child must watch to unlock a play item: 16%
- Ads hidden behind symbols like ”$” or disguised as gameplay items: 7%
Paying for an app, or choosing one labeled “educational,” does not guarantee it is ad-free. The same study found advertising in every free app, in 88% of paid apps, and “at similar rates in apps labeled as ‘educational’” as in other apps. The American Academy of Pediatrics explains why that matters for a young child: children “are uniquely vulnerable to the persuasive effects of advertising because of immature critical thinking skills and impulse inhibition.” Choose ad-free practice so your child can read and play without being asked to watch an ad or buy something.
How do in-app purchases work in kids’ apps?
In-app purchases can mean coins, extra levels, or characters offered during play. They can also mean a subscription you buy at setup to unlock the whole app. Check when the app asks for payment and who can reach the purchase screen. Both app stores have rules against pushing purchases on children: Google Play’s Families policy bans “shocking or emotionally manipulative tactics to encourage ads viewing or in-app purchases,” and Apple requires any purchase in a Kids Category app to sit behind a parental gate.
Choose an ad-free app, then check when purchases appear. With Wonster Words, a parent subscribes at sign-up and there are no further purchases. Khan Academy Kids, Duolingo ABC, and Starfall Learn to Read have no in-app purchases.
Turn on purchase approval on your child’s device, too. Ask to Buy on an iPad, purchase approval in Google Family Link, or the purchase settings in an Amazon Kids profile send every purchase to you first, whatever the app does. Our guide to the best tablet for kids explains how to set those up.
How to tell if an app or website shows ads
On the App Store, check the age rating, purchase label, and privacy label.
- “Made for Ages 0–5” or “Made for Ages 6–8” under Age Rating means the app is in Apple’s Kids Category, where Apple limits third-party ads and keeps purchases behind a parental gate. The Category line itself only says Education, so do not look for the word “Kids” there.
- “In-App Purchases” beside the price means something is sold in the app. A subscription bought at sign-up counts too, so check what is sold and when your child might see it.
- The App Privacy label says what the company collects, in its own words. Ad-free is not the same as collecting no data, and our guide to whether kids’ learning apps are safe explains how to read the label.
On Google Play, look for “Contains ads” under the app’s name. Google’s Play Console Help explains that the label does not cover everything sold or promoted inside an app: it “isn’t meant to cover whether an app contains other kinds of commercial content, like paid product placement or offers to make in-app purchases or upgrades.” An “In-app purchases” label sits under the name too.
On a website, read the privacy policy’s section on advertising. Each of the game sites in this guide describes its ads there. Look for “Ad” or “Sponsored” labels and a “go ad-free” button, and check the terms for a minimum age.
Then watch the first 5 minutes. Sit beside your child for their first session with a new app or site, and tap the logo, the corners, and any shop or gift icon yourself: in an app built for children, a gate should stop you. Nothing on the screen should ask your child to buy something, to watch something else, or to leave. And judge any reading app away from the screen too: a word your child practiced in the app and then reads in a book is the sign it is working.
Frequently asked questions
Does YouTube Kids have ads?
Yes. Your child may see a short ad, marked Ad or Sponsored, before a video on YouTube Kids. YouTube approves these ads before they run, does not target them at your child, and bans food and drink ads. Your child cannot click an ad to visit a website or buy something. Products featured inside creators' videos are treated separately and can appear without an ad label.
Does YouTube Premium remove ads on YouTube Kids?
YouTube Premium removes paid ads on YouTube Kids. Products featured inside creators' videos remain, because YouTube does not count those videos as ads. Premium Lite costs $8.99 a month and makes most YouTube Kids videos ad-free, but ads may still appear on music content, Shorts, and when your child searches or browses. YouTube counts children's songs as music content, so that exception matters if your child watches phonics songs.
Does PBS KIDS have ads?
PBS KIDS shows short sponsor credits rather than commercials. A credit may appear at the start of a video. PBS rules ban hosts from selling sponsors' products in children's content and keep a children's brand's products out of its credit. PBS describes its children's content as a safe haven from commercial messaging. PBS KIDS also says it will not use children's personal information for marketing or online advertising.
Is PBS KIDS funded by donations rather than ads?
Sponsors, donations, and public money fund PBS KIDS. PBS says corporate sponsors help pay for its free programming, games, and activities. Individuals, foundations, businesses, community organizations, and federal, state, and local governments also support public media.
Does ABCya have ads?
Yes. ABCya shows ads from other companies unless you buy an ad-free subscription. Its privacy policy says those ads are contextual: they are chosen by the page your child is on rather than targeted at your child. The ad-free family plan costs $9.99 a month or $79.99 a year.
Are there free reading games without ads?
Yes. Starfall's website shows no ads, and its four Learn to Read apps are free and ad-free. Khan Academy Kids and Duolingo ABC are also free, ad-free options. Khan Academy is a nonprofit, and Duolingo ABC is made by the company behind the Duolingo language app.
Which reading apps have no in-app purchases?
Khan Academy Kids, Duolingo ABC, and Starfall Learn to Read have no in-app purchases. Subscription apps in Apple's Kids Category must keep purchases behind a parental gate. Wonster Words sells its subscription at sign-up, behind a parent gate; after that, there is nothing to buy or unlock.
Is a reading app better than YouTube for teaching a 4-year-old to read?
For regular reading practice, choose an app that has your child build and read words in a deliberate order and keeps track of what they have practiced. YouTube does not provide that reading sequence or track what your child has mastered, and it comes with ads and products featured inside videos. A good phonics song or read-aloud can still be a useful addition to reading together.
Do ad-free reading apps work offline?
Several ad-free reading apps work offline, but check how much you can use without a connection. Wonster Words has full features available once lessons are downloaded. Starfall Learn to Read and Duolingo ABC say they work offline, Khan Academy Kids has an offline section, and ABCmouse offers an offline mode on its Premium plan. Try the app in airplane mode at home before you rely on it.
Related guides
Last updated
